Head of Department

Professor Dr. Thomas Efferth


1980-1986   Study of Biology, Technical University Darmstadt, Germany

1990           PhD Thesis, German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg, Germany

1997           Habilitation (Postdoctorate Thesis), Tech. Univ.Aachen, Germany


2005           Research group leader, German Cancer Res. Center, Heidelberg

2007           Associate Professor (apl.), University of Heidelberg, Germany

2009           Full Professor, Chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Biology,

Institute of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences, Johannes Gutenberg University,

Mainz, Germany

2021           Director, Institute of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences,

Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany


1991           Ludolf Krehl-Award (1st place), Southwest-German Soc.for Medicine

2006           Honorary professor, Northeast Forestry University, Harbin, China

2006           Dr. Wilmar Schwabe Award, Society for Medical Plant Research in Helsinki, Finland,

August 30th 2006

2008           Citizen Medal (Bürgerplakette) of the City of Heidelberg, Germany

2010           Visiting professor, Zhejiang Medical University, Hangzhou, China

2011           Award (1st place) of the Central European Society for Anticancer Drug

Research (CESAR) for translational research in the development of antitumoral agents

2015           Honorary professor, Zhejiang Medical University, Hangzhou, China

2015           Visiting professor, Zhejiang Univ. Sci. Technol., Hangzhou, China

2015           “TheSCENTEDdrop” Award (1st place) for research on medicinal herbs and fragrant plants,

Graz, Austria

2016           Appreciation Award, Salah Wanasi Foundation for Cancer Research and Control,

Khartoum, Sudan

2017           Qihuang International Award, Chinese Society of Chinese Medicine

2018           Honorary adjunct professor, Chinese University of Hong Kong

2018           Full member, World Academy of Sciences (WAS)

2019           Honorary professor, Hong Kong Baptist University

2020           Top 2% in the Stanford University worldwide citation ranking 2019

of all scientists and scientific disciplines (Ioannidis et al., PLoS Biol 2020;18:e3000918;


2021           High Impact Paper Award of the journal “Engineering”

(edited by Chinese Academy of Engineering) for the fifth-most cited paper in 2019 (top 3.5%)



  • 700 PubMed-listed publications
  • Hirsch factor (h-index): 88 (according to Google Scholar)
  • Total number of citations: 41,000 (according to Google Scholar)
  • 43 book chapters, four books
  • 300 lectures at international conferences
  • 200 posters at international conferences
  • 8 patents


Editorial Boards:

  • Editor-in-Chief: Phytomedicine (since 2017); Phytomedicine Plus (since 2020), Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (2014-2018); Phytopharmacology (2011-2013)
  • Co-Editor: Pharmaceuticals (since 2020), Naunyn-Schmiedeberg’s Archives of Pharmacology (since 2018), Journal of Ethnopharmacology (since 2017); Eur. J. Med. Plants (2014-2018), Phytomedicine (2014-2016), Frontiers in Pharmacology (since 2010), Planta Medica (2007-2015) etc.
  • Editorial Board member: Cancer Lett., Int. J. Oncol., Curr. Med. Chem., Crit. Rev. Oncogen., Chem-Biol. Interact., Cancer Genomics Proteomics, World J. Translat. Med., World J. Pharmacol., Cancer Drug Resistance, Onco Therapeutics etc.


Society Memberships:

  • Vice-president, Specialty Committee on Immunology of TCM, World Federation of Chinese Medicine Societies
  • Scientific advisory member, German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG)
  • Executive council member, Natural Product Section, International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR)
  • Board of directors, German-Chinese Research foundation for Traditional Chinese Medicine
  • Board of directors, Good Practice in TCM Research Association
  • Member, Society for Medicinal Plant Research (GA)
  • Member, International Society of Ethnopharmacology


Scientific Advisory Board Memberships:

  • Research Grant Council Hong Kong (since 2016)
  • Herbal Medicinal Products Platform Austria (HMPPA) (since 2016)
  • Institute of Biotechnology and Drug Research, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany (since 2015)
  • Agricultural Biotechnology Research Center, Academia Sinica, Taipei Taiwan (since 2013)
  • Competence Network Complementary Medicine in Oncology (KOKON). Hospital Nuremberg (2012-2020)
  • HanseMerkur Zentrum, Universitätsklinikum Eppendorf, Hamburg (since 2010)
  • International Institute of Anticancer Research, Athens, Greece (since 2009)
  • Begell House Publishers, New York, USA (2012-2014, second term since 2021)
  • Dafra Pharma R&D, Tournhout, Belgium (2011-2013)