Head of Department

Team members

Appointments of former lab members to leading academic positions:

  • 2020: Mona Dawood: Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Biology, Faculty of Medical Laboratory Science, Al-Neelain University, Khartoum, Sudan
  • 2019: Leonida Kerubo Omosa: Associate Professor and Dean, University of Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
  • 2019: Armelle Mbaveng: Associate Professor, University of Dschang, Cameroon
  • 2019: Ching-Fen Wu: Assistant Professor, Department of Veterinary Medicine, National Chiayi University, Taiwan
  • 2018: Prof. Dr. Mohammad Sanad Abu-Darwish, President, Aqaba University of Technology, Jordan
  • 2018: Victur Kuete, Full Professor, University of Dschang, Cameroon
  • 2017: Mohamed Elamir F. Hegazy, Full Professor, National Research Center, Giza, Egypt
  • 2017: Hiroshi Nakagawa, Associate Professor, Chubu University, Aichi, Japan
  • 2017: Sami Hamdoun, Assistant Professor, University of Khartoum, Khartoum, Sudan
  • 2015: Asuman Karadeniz, Assistant Professor, Mehmet Akif Ersoy University, Biology Department, Burdur, Turkey
  • 2014: Victor Kuete, Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry, University of Dschang, Cameroon
  • 2013: Else Dapat, Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, University of the Philippines, Manila, Philippines
  • 2011: Serkan Sertel, Privatdozent (Habilitation), 2017: apl.-Professor, University of Heidelberg, Germany
  • 2010: Hiroshi Nakagawa, Assistant Professor, Chubu University, Aichi, Japan
  • 2009: Mahmoud Youns, Assistant Professor, University of Helwan, Ain Helwan, Cairo, Egypt
  • 2009: Badireenath Konkimalla, Assistant Professor, Natl. Inst. Sci. Educ. Res. (NISER), Bhubaneswar, India.

Awards of former and current lab members:

  • 2020: Mona Dawood: Apotheker Jakob Award
  • 2019: Sara Abdelfatah: Boehringer Ingelheim Award for best PhD thesis
  • 2017: Chunlan Hong: Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Abroad
  • 2017: Mohamed E.M. Saeed: Boehringer Ingelheim Award for best PhD thesis
  • 2017: Mona Dawood: Poster award at the International Conference on Science and Society, Mainz
  • 2016: Maen Zeino: Boehringer Ingelheim Award for best PhD thesis
  • 2015: Rebecca Hamm: Boehringer Ingelheim Award for best PhD thesis
  • 2014: Jonas Börtzler: Award of the Johannes-Gutenberg University Mainz for best Student Research project
  • 2014: Chunlan Hong: Excellent Paper Award, Postraumatic Stress Conference, Hangzhou.
  • 2014: Benjamin Wiench, Boehringer Ingelheim Award for best PhD thesis
  • 2014: Onat Kadioglu, Poster Award, 2nd Bahcesehir University Drug Design Congress, Istanbul, Turkey.
  • 2013: Mohamed E. Saeed, Young Investigator Award, 15th Symposium of the Natural Products Research Network for Eastern and Central Africa (NAPRECA). Khartum, Sudan
  • 2013: Onat Kadioglu. Poster Award, Bahcesehir University Drug Design Symposium. Istanbul, Turkey.
  • 2012: Victor Kuete, Alexander von Humbold fellowship
  • 2012: Badireenath Konkimalla, Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award (IYBA), DBT, India.
  • 2012: Else Dapat, Poster Award, 34th Ann. Sci. Meeting, Natl. Acad. Sci. Technol., Philippines
  • 2010: Tolga Eichhorn, L.A.B. Award of GIT Publishing House and Fair, Leipzig, Germany.